Science Writer and Journalist

Tweed jackets and outdoor scenery go well together. This I believe.

I’m a journalist and graduate of the masters in science writing program at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Md. My interests in science are broad, including astronomy, medicine, evolution, neuroscience, particle physics, science history, science policy and global development. Since graduating I’ve been published by News from Science, Science NewsInside Science News, New Scientst and EARTH Magazine.  I’ve also written for the American Geophysical Union in Washington, D.C. Additionally, I’ve written for The World Academy of Sciences and the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics, both based in Trieste, Italy, where I currently live.

Born and raised on Long Island, I first went to college at the State University of New York at Oswego to pursue an English degree. After graduating, I decided to stick around upstate New York for a few years. I was a journalist at The Palladium-Times for three years and over the next five I worked at The Saratogian and then The Post-Star. Over all those years I collected both news writing and graphic design experience, both of which have won statewide awards.

You can contact me at seantreacy(at)gmail(dot)com.

Leave a Reply

